Liverpool Playwrights at The Brink

It won’t be news to any of you that I am not a theatre critic so don’t be expecting some in-depth review of the writing and the acting that I was lucky enough to enjoy on Saturday night – this is more just about the group and the evening. If you haven’t been to or heard of The Brink before its a community cafe and Liverpool’s first dry bar, which does make it’s location a little ironic as it is a stones throw away from the bulk of Liverpool’s clubs, bars and nighttime spots.

Alongside food and drink there are also a crazy variety of classes, clubs and events that all happen inside this cosy venue with its velvety sofas and high ceilings adorned with random lines of poetry. But on Saturday I was there to enjoy a curry and watch 6 short plays put on by Liverpool playwrights for Bistro Theatre, specifically one, ‘Lost in Teal’ by my friend Robert Pritchard, so you’ll forgive me for enjoying that one the most but my bias aside – it was hilarious.

What’s great about the Liverpool Playwrights group is that it allows writers to get together, discuss and workshop their work, which is something that can be hard to find once you leave university and need someone else’s opinion on your work who isn’t a friend or relative. When said plays are ready and have been worked on enough, that’s when they make it into Bistro Theatre for a few hours of good entertainment for a supportive crowd. The evening produced a mixture of unique ways to approach the theme of each piece – some were funny, some were shorter and pumped meaning into a smaller time and others were truly hard-hitting. I particularly can’t forget the first play entitled ‘My Sister’s Body’, which saw two sisters dealing with one’s diagnoses and journey with a degenerative disease. By the time we were taking a break for food I was felt like I had been thrown in every which direction emotionally! But by the end I was almost sad that the evening was drawing to a close, I’ve seen some bad plays in my time and sitting in silence through them, unable to move or drag yourself to an exit is beyond painful but I won’t name names… Pinter. None of the plays that I saw that night had me gazing longingly at the clock waiting for the each minute to end. The night drew to a close with some mellow, if not a bit heavy music that brought me back to reality after being drawn into the worlds created on the stage by the writers. I definitely was left with a feeling of longing for days at university where I would get to hear other people’s new work and then get to ask them questions about how they thought it all up. Hopefully it won’t be so long until the next time I get to enjoy hearing some new writing again.

Leave a Reply

