Inside my diaries: Part one (2005-2006)

 

Until very recently I had been writing in diaries for over half of my life, since I was 11 years old and 2 weeks away from starting high school. I have only stopped writing a proper diary recently because of this blog and because I am expressing myself more through creative writing than a literal documentation of my thoughts and feelings nowadays. In the past I have read select, hilarious sections from my earliest diary to a few friends and looking at the small pile of diaries when I came home just made me want to read and share some of the stupid things I used to write. As there is so much material I’ll be making this into a regular series of posts if people enjoy it! I will be changing people’s names if they pop up  and all spelling/grammatical mistakes are from past me, I swear.

So, here it goes.

Tuesday 6th September 2005
Dear Diary,
It’s my first day of year 7 tomorrow and I can’t wait! I’m going to be on hot dinners, (yes!!!). I got all me stuff ready tonight […] and Tina* called me tonight and was asking me what stuff we needed. And I’m getting an MSN address tonight so I can talk to all my mates!
hannah
xxx

I have no idea why hot dinners were so exciting because I had them at primary school and I used to always write my name with a lowercase ‘H’ because I hated how the uppercase looked. Also, I remember my brother helping me to make an MSN and my name was sugarnspicenallthingsnice. How embarrassing and annoying to tell people.

Monday 26th September
Dear Diary,
I’m going to meet Jaqueline Wilson! I can’t wait! On the 20th of October. It’ so cool. I meen like she is an amazing writer and I love all of her books and I just want to meet her so bad. I’m not the only one though because Tina, Lucy* and Emma* are going to meet her to. Her new book is called Love Lessons. Cool huh! Anyway we’ve got wednesday off! YEY! Any how I’ve got to get some sleep! Cya soon!
hannah
xxx

I wrote the “love” part in a giant heart and all. Included this part so you could all enjoy the photo of 11 year old me fangirling over Jaqueline Wilson. I still have the signed book, of course.

 

Monday 17th October
Dear Diary,
Sorry I haven’t written to you lately. There hasn’t been much to write about. I’ve finally got an msn addy. It’s 3 days ’til I meet Jaqueline Wilson, (I can’t wait)! Emma went on a bender in Wales wiv a boy! Delehuntys is closed. Boo Hoo! I don’t luv Lee* anymore and I now fancy Peter*. He’s dead cute. I’ve probably told you this but Emma aid she nearly got a detention in french for swearing at the french teacher (yeh right!) Oh and most importantly my boobs are getting bigger! YEH! Cya soon!
hannah
xxx

Okay, I’ve been in high school for a month and I have already moved on from one crush to another?! Neither of which were mentioned in previous entries I’d like to add. Well, start as you intend to finish. Also, no 11-year old Hannah, your boobs aren’t really getting bigger, that’s wishful thinking and I hate to tell you but you’re not really going to have any until you’re about 17.
(I’d like to add that the entry before this was just a drawing of a small gravestone and a dedication for my friend’s dead gerbil).

Saturday 11th February
Dear Diary,
I’m not sure what to write. I got a nasty text off Emma. I HATE Her! I want to ask Liam* out my mum’s up 4 it but not my dad. And I’m going 2 france in a week and getting my earspierced in summer.
hannah
xxx

Yep, that’s another new crush and can you tell that I got a phone for Christmas because of the fact I can’t seem to write without substituting numbers into my sentences. I went on the date, we saw Ice Age 2 and it was as awkward as expected when you are 12 and don’t know what you are doing.

Sunday 19th March
Dear Diary,
I’m so upset some1 (probably Emma) has been saying that Tina and I are Sluts, Slags  and bitches. They told Liam that he shouldn’t go out with me because i’m ugle and mean! They use the name *** and they keep saying all this mean stuff bout us. I want to tell some1 but who?! Lucy’s slpover was a disaster! She fell asleep rele fast so Tina and I decided to put all this edible make-up on her. When we told her she shouted at us for like 20 mins and then said “I’m allergic to un-organic make-up” she said she told us in year 6!! Now I’m so hurt I feel like I’m going to cry. I just got an idea! I’m going to report it to piczo abuse. Nite!
hannah
xxx

I did not know how to structure a piece of writing when I was a kid, clearly. Remember when making a Piczo site was a thing?! Think mine and my friend’s was called ‘xcupcakesx’ and we stopped using it because of anonymous hate messages, that kind of thing definitely hasn’t changed much in 2017.

That’s all I’m giving for now. Of course, none of this is particularly juicy for those of you who are reading this thinking there is some secrets or gossip… that kind of thing will come later I bet.

Leave a Reply

